The Stanford Award was initiated by Dr. Kay Shepard in 2000 through an endowment to the Academy for Education. Kay's editorial about the award can be found in JOPTE Volume 15, No. 1, Spring 2001.



To recognize the author or authors of an article published in the Journal that is considered as presenting the most influential ideas for Physical Therapy Education.


Procedure for Nomination and Author Selection Process

    1. In November of each calendar year, an Editorial Board Member is appointed by the (Co-)editor-in-chief as that calendar year's awards committee chair.
    2. The awards committee chair will determine what papers published during the present calendar year and those that are accepted for publication AND planned to print in the December issue are eligible for consideration.
    3. The eligible papers list is shared by email with all Editorial Board Members.
    4. All Editorial Board Members are eligible to nominate any additional papers that they believe meet the consideration criteria.
    5. Editorial Board Members then rank order the papers available for consideration, ranking their top, 2nd and 3rd choices by electronic voting, arranged by the awards committee chair.
    6. The awards committee chair tallies the electronic voting and notifies the (Co-)editor-in-chief of results, copying all received votes.
    7. Voting results are maintained by the (Co-)editor-in-chief for a period of 12 months following the award presentation.

Notification of Award

  1. Award winner (first author) notified by the (Co-)editor-in-chief of winning by December 8, inquiring that winner is planning to attend CSM.
  2. Presentation of award made by (Co-)editor-in-chief at CSM APTE Business Meeting. The award includes a $300.00 monetary stipend

Past Recipients